WVIN News - Sponsored By:

Top Stories, November 7, 2023

The Polls Are Now Open - It's Time To Vote

It’s Election Day, Tuesday November 7 2023.  Polls are open, they opened at 6am and they’ll be open until 9:00 tonight.  Here are the voting locations: For Bath Town District 1 voting is at the Kanona Fire Department, Bath Town District 2 at the Savona Municipal Building, Bath Town District 3 at the Bath Baptist Church Fellowship Hall and Bath Town District 4 at the Cenetary United Methodist Church.   In Avoca you vote at the United Methodist Church, Bradford at the Bradford Town Hall, For Lindley, the Lindley Town Hall, in Prattsburgh at the Prattsburgh Fire Department, In Pulteney at the Ross Memorial Library, In Rathbone at the Rathbone Town Hall, in Thurston at the Thurston Town Hall, in Tuscarora Town Hall, in Caton at the Caton Fire Department, in Cohocton at the Cohocton Assembly Of God Church, for Corning Town Voters at the Corning Fire Department, The Riverside Village Hall and The Corning American Legion.  For the Corning City Voters Wards 1, 2, 3 and 4, vote at the Southeast Steuben County Library, for Corning City Ward voters, wards 5, 6, 7 and 8 vote at the Emanuel Lutheran Church in Corning.   For Erwin, you vote at the Erwin Local 313 Union Hall, or the Forest View Fire Department in Painted Post, In Urbana at the Hammondsport Fire Department, in Wheeler at the Wheeler Town Hall, in Woodhull at the Woodhull Town Hall Gym. 

In the local county legislators races for the Bath area, there are two different races for Bath District 3.  There’s the Kelly Fitzpatrick race, Fitzpatrick is running unopposed for a four year term in District 3.  There’s also in Bath District 3, a race between Nick Pelham and Dean Rawleigh.  The race between Pelham and Rawleigh is a two year seat, and that’s to fill out the remainder of the unfinished term for the late Guy Hammond.  Hammond passed away in October of 2022

In Bath, the big race is between Town Supervisor Conservative Ron Smith and Republican opponent Joshua Buck.  In Campbell, there’s a Campbell tax collector race between Democrat William Rosplock and Republican Jacquelyn Kohman.  The Urbana Town Supervisors race is between Edward Stull and David Durepo and a three way town board race between Mary Jane Bray, David Luppino and Emery Cummings Jr.  In Lindley they have the town supervisors race between Roger Reep and David Fuller.  In Caton there’s the Caton Town Highway Superintendents race between Jeff Card and Raymond Riesbeck.  In Corning, there’s a 4th Ward Corning City Council race between Democrat Marshall Hyde and Republican Lisa Hohman, and a Corning Highway Superintendents race between Glen Rose Jr and Mark Burger.  And unless there are surprise write-in candidates, the following towns have races with no opposition: Addison, Avoca, Campbell, Cohocton, Erwin, Hornby, Howard, Lindley,  Prattsburgh, Pulteney, Wayne and West Union.  Propositions on the ballot: there are two statewide props: Prop One is an amendment to make all school districts equal, it would make it so the small school districts get equal treatment in funding that bigger school districts do.  Statewide Prop Two would extend for 10 years, county, city, town and village board’s ability to remove debt limit for the construction of sewer facilities.  There are also local propositions: Lindley and Addison’s have props on making the highway superintendent’s job either appointed or elected.  Pulteney has a prop to increase the library budget. 



Thursday, November 9, 2023, we will be tying in the new water main installed on Haverling Street with the existing water main on Gratton Drive. To facilitate this work, water will be shut off and BEGWS water customers on Gratton Drive will be without water from 10:00am to 2:00pm. Additionally, for public and employee safety, Gratton Drive will be closed to thru traffic from 9:00am to 3:00pm; local traffic only will be permitted during this time.

On Air Now

John Summers
John Summers
3:00pm - 8:00pm
Afternoon Show


Community, News & Media